Search the COA website:

Commissioners represent the Opticians Association of America (OAA), the National Academy of Opticianry (NAO), the National Federation of Opticianry Schools (NFOS), and the public. Each term is three years, and a Commissioner may serve no more than two consecutive terms. The terms begin on July 1, and expire on June 30 of the year listed.

Commissioners: July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018

Appointed by; Term #; Term Expires


Lanard C. Atkins, LDO, ABOC, NCLEC
OAA; 1; 2020
Opticianry Program Director, Georgia Piedmont Technical College

David E Burt, BBA Vice Chair
Public Member; 1; 2018

Retired, General Motors Corp.

Daniel Dull, Ed.D., COL USA Ret.
Public Member; 1; 2019
Training and Education Consultant

Cathy Evans, ABOC, FNAO
NAO; 2; 2020
Director of Ophthalmic Services at Pacific University College of Optometry

John Godert M.S.Ed., Chair
NFOS; 2; 2018
Professor/Department Head at Erie Community College

Tom Hicks, Treasurer
OAA; 1; 2019

Oxford Opticians, Oxford, OH

Douglas Nunes, RDO, ABOC, NCLC;
OAA; 1; 2020

Massachusetts Licensed Dispensing Optician

Yvonne H. Pelkey, LDO, ABOC, NCLE
OAA; 2; 2019
J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Mary Seguiti, BA, LDO, ABOC, NCLE, NFOS
NFOS; 1; 2020
Hillsborough Community College Opticianry Program

Russ Tolar, ABOC, FNAO
NAO; 1; 2019
Training and Education Consultant

Phernell Walker, ABOM, NCLC
NAO; 1; 2018
Vice President of Retail Operations and Education for Budget Opticals of America Inc.

Billy J. Weaver, DpO, ABOM, NCLC, FNAO.
NAO; 2; 2018
Tennessee DpO

Donate to the Commission using PayPal.
You do not need a PayPal account to donate this way.
PayPal takes all major credit cards and debit cards.

For questions regarding COA or its accredited programs, please contact:
Debra White, Director of Accreditation
PO Box 592
Canton NY, 13617
voice: 703 468 0566